Library cards
© ULB, WWU - Peter Grewer

Library card

The use of the ULB and its branch libraries is basically free of charge. Information areas and reading rooms are freely accessible. However, you will need a library card for all borrowing procedures.

The library card is valid for the Central Library and its branches (Medicine, Social Sciences, Centre for Dutch Studies). Furthermore, you can use your library card to borrow books from the Educational Institute Library.

Coronavirus

In response to the Corona pandemia the ULB can only be used to a limited extent, which is why registration or activation of the student ID card is currently only possible online.
In-person registration/activation at the ULB registration desks is currently not yet possible.
For details please see the FAQs or the service overview [de].

Registration – How to obtain your library card

The ULB library card is free of charge. You can apply for your library card in person or online. If you are a student at the University of Münster, your student ID card is also your library card. When you receive your student ID card, you will just need to activate your library account.

For students of the University of Münster

You will find your personal ULB user number printed on the back of the student ID card – in plain text and codified as a barcode. For security reasons, however, the ULB user number is not yet valid at the time the card is sent by the Student Admissions Office, but must be activated once in the ULB. And this is how it works:

  • Online activation of the student ID card:
    The easiest way for you to proceed is to start the activation process online. Visit https://www.ulb.uni-muenster.de/student-id-card/activation and log in with your WWU user ID. Then enter your new ULB user number and – if you already have an ULB library card – your previous ULB user number. Once the necessary data have been submitted, you will be informed of the activation status. In any case, you will receive a message to your Münster University e-mail address after the activation has been completed. You can then use your student ID card as a ULB library card.
  • In-person activation of the student ID card:
    This service is currently not available.

For all other persons

does not apply to students of the University of Münster
  • Online registration:
    When registering online, you enter your personal details in a web form. After submitting the completed form you will receive a confirmation of your registration. It contains precise information on when and where your library card will be available for collection as well as which documents (identity card, passport, etc.) you need to bring with you. As a rule, you can collect your library card from the second working day after ordering. Online registration
  • In-person registration:
    This service is currently not available.

Special regulations

  • In addition to the registration form, minors require a declaration of consent [de] from a parent or legal guardian as well as their identity card or passport or a photocopy of it. Minors under 16 years of age are not permitted to use the ULB, with the exception of junior students at the University of Münster and pupils participating in the funding programme of the International Centre for the Study of Giftedness (ICBF) of the University of Münster.
  • In order to apply for a library card, the heads of projects at the University of Münster need to complete the registration form "Projects and course reserves" [de].
  • For a course reserve in an institute, in a branch library or in the reading room of the ULB, please use the registration form "Projects and course reserves" [de]
  • Trainee lawyers or trainee teachers, as well as physicians and pharmacists in the elective period (provided that their place of residence or training is in the Münster administrative district) can be granted regular students' loan conditions on request. Please use the online registration.
  • In exceptional cases, you may appoint another person to apply for and collect your library card. For this purpose, the person appointed by you must, in addition to the above-mentioned documents, present a written authority [de] and identify themselves by means of an identity card or passport.

User number and password

Your user number and password are the key to your library account and services. You will need them to request, reserve and renew items via the ULB catalogue [de], to place requests for interlibrary loans and when using the self-issue machines in the Lehrbuch-Magazin (i. e. textbook collection).

On the back of your student ID card you will find your user number in plain text as well as codified as a bar code. Each user number consists of 11 characters in the format: A12345678/Z. Please enter your user number as shown on your student ID card – using capital letters, slash included. If your user number ends in 0, please check if it is the upper-case letter O or the digit 0.

The first time you log in, your password is set by default to the first four digits of your birthday (in the format DDMM, e.g. “0112” would be the 1st of December). You will then be prompted to set up a new password (6–12 characters, case-sensitive). The password must contain at least 1 capital letter, 1 small letter and 1 number. Please avoid using umlauts or special characters. If you want to change your password again later, you can do so at any time by accessing your account in the ULB catalogue (KontoBenutzerdaten, i.e. your account → user details).

If you have forgotten your password, you can request a new password to be emailed to you by clicking on Passwort vergessen? in the menu Konto of the ULB catalogue. (You can only use this function if your e-mail address is also entered in your user account.) With this new password, you can then log in to your account. After a successful login, this new password replaces the old password. However, if you remember your previous password in the meantime, you can still log in with it. In this case, the new password sent by e-mail will become invalid again.

If you have forgotten your password, but have not entered an e-mail address in your user account, please contact one of the ULB registration desks during opening hours. In this case, please bring along your student ID card or your ULB library card, as well as your passport or identity card.

Pick-up number

Reserved items, requested items from closed stacks, as well as items requested via interlibrary loan will be available for collection. To locate your items on the shelves in the self-collection area on the ground floor of the Central Library, refer to the last three digits of your student ID number. This 3-digit number is your pick-up number: If your student ID number is 123456, your pick-up number is 456. As for all other users, the pick-up number is printed on your ULB library card to the right of your user number. Please note that there is no self-collect service in the reading rooms and in our branch libraries. The items are retrieved by library staff.

Borrowing conditions

The library card is valid for the Central Library and its branch libraries (Medicine, Social Sciences, Centre for Dutch Studies). Furthermore, you can use your library card to borrow books from the Educational Institute Library.

The borrowing of media from the ULB is basically free of charge. You will only be charged for the matters listed in the fee schedule [de], such as exceeding the loan period or for individual services such as interlibrary loan orders.

Different borrowing conditions apply to the different user groups of the ULB (number of borrowable media, renewal options, etc.). The initial letter of your user number indicates the user group to which you belong; for example, the letter "A" represents students of the University of Münster. A separate overview informs you of the borrowing conditions [de] that apply to your user group.

Change of personal details

By entering KontoBenutzerdaten in the ULB catalogue [de] you can check your user details at any time and make sure that they are correct. Please inform us as soon as possible of any changes to your personal details:

  • Name/address:
    Students should report any changes in name and address to the Student Admissions Office (Studierendensekretariat). Please use the SelfService for this purpose. The Student Admissions Office will pass these changes on to the ULB. It is not necessary to send an additional message to the ULB.
    All other users must notify the ULB in person of any change in name or address at one of the registration desks. Please bring along your ULB library card as well as your identity card or passport and your registration certificate.
  • E-mail address:
    You can change your e-mail address(es) yourself via the ULB catalogue [de] (KontoBenutzerdaten).

Lost library cards

If your library card is lost or stolen, please notify the ULB Münster immediately. You can do so in person at the registration desk (Empfang und Anmeldung) or circulation desk (Ausleihe) in the foyer, or by calling the lending department at +49 (0)251 83-24032 (or at +49 (0)251 83-24027 after 5 p.m., in the evenings and on weekends). You will be liable for any misuse of your lost and unblocked card.

Lost or damaged student ID cards can only be replaced at the Student Admissions Office (Studierendensekretariat). Your replacement card needs to be activated again by the ULB.

Please pay careful attention to your library card and protect it from damage. For the second issue of a library card by the ULB, a fee of 10 Euros will be charged according to the fee schedule [de]. For students of the University of Münster, a replacement student ID card can only be issued by the Student Admissions Office and costs 15 Euros.

Period of validity

How long does your library card remain valid? What to do in case of exmatriculation?
  • The student ID card of the University of Münster is valid as ULB library card until the end of the semester in which you de-register. If you receive a replacement student ID card from the Student Admissions Office, your previous card will be blocked for use in the ULB eight weeks later; after this period, only the newly issued student ID card – once again activated by the ULB – will be valid. If you would like to continue to use the ULB after graduation, please ask for a library card for external users.
  • The library cards issued to students of the University of Applied Sciences Münster, the Catholic University of Applied Sciences of North Rhine-Westphalia (Münster campus), the University of Fine Arts Münster, and the Philosophical-Theological University Münster are valid until the end of the semester in which you are exmatriculated. If you would like to continue to use the ULB after graduation, please ask for a library card for external users.
  • The library cards issued to students of the German Police University, the Federal University of Applied Administrative Sciences (Departmental Branch of Financial Administration), and the University of Applied Sciences for Police and Public Administration in North Rhine-Westphalia are usually valid until the end of the current semester and can be renewed for one semester upon presentation of a current student ID card or semester ticket. You will receive an e-mail notification from us in time before the expiration of the validity of your card. If you would like to continue to use the ULB after graduation, please ask for a library card for external users.
  • The library cards of the university staff are valid until they leave the university.
  • The library cards of external users will be deleted if they have not been used for three years.

Benutzungsausweise
© ULB

Benutzungsausweis

Die Nutzung der ULB und ihrer Zweigbibliotheken ist grundsätzlich kostenlos. Informationsbereiche und Lesesäle sind für jedermann frei zugänglich. Für sämtliche Ausleihvorgänge benötigen Sie jedoch einen Benutzungsausweis.

Anmeldung - So erhalten Sie Ihren Benutzungsausweis

Den Benutzungsausweis der ULB erhalten Sie kostenlos. Sie können Ihren Benutzungsausweis persönlich oder online beantragen. Für Studierende der WWU gilt – nach Aktivierung durch die ULB – die Studierendenkarte als Benutzungsausweis.

Für Studierende der WWU:
Auf der Rückseite der Studierendenkarte finden Sie Ihre persönliche ULB-Benutzernummer aufgedruckt – im Klartext sowie als Barcode verschlüsselt. Aus Sicherheitsgründen ist die aufgedruckte ULB-Benutzernummer jedoch noch nicht gültig, wenn die Karte vom Studierendensekretariat verschickt wird, sondern muss einmalig in der ULB aktiviert werden. Und das funktioniert so:

  • Online-Aktivierung der Studierendenkarte: Am einfachsten für Sie ist es, wenn Sie die Aktivierung online starten. Rufen Sie dazu die Seite http://www.ulb.uni-muenster.de/studierendenkarte/aktivierung auf und melden sich mit Ihrer ZIV-Kennung an. Anschließend geben Sie Ihre neue ULB-Benutzernummer sowie - falls Sie bereits einen ULB-Ausweis besitzen - Ihre bisherige ULB-Benutzernummer ein. Das ist schon alles! Nach dem Abschicken der Daten wird Ihnen angezeigt, wann die Aktivierung voraussichtlich abgeschlossen sein wird. Sie erhalten auf jeden Fall eine Nachricht an Ihre WWU-E-Mail-Adresse, wenn die Aktivierung erfolgt ist und Sie Ihre Studierendenkarte als ULB-Benutzungsausweis einsetzen können.
  • Persönliche Aktivierung der Studierendenkarte: Selbstverständlich können Sie Ihre Studierendenkarte auch persönlich an den Ausweisschaltern der ULB aktivieren lassen. Dazu bringen Sie einen amtlichen Lichtbildausweis (Personalausweis, Reisepass), Ihre Studierendenkarte sowie - falls Sie bereits einen ULB-Ausweis besitzen - Ihren bisherigen ULB-Ausweis mit. Die Aktivierung Ihrer Studierendenkarte sowie die ggf. notwendige Übertragung Ihres bisherigen ULB-Kontos auf die neue Benutzernummer dauern nur wenige Augenblicke. Öffnungszeiten der Ausweisschalter:
    • ULB (Leihstelle im EG): Montag - Freitag 10-13 und 15-17 Uhr, Donnerstag bis 19 Uhr
    • Zweigbibliothek Medizin: Montag - Freitag 8-16:30 Uhr
    • Zweigbibliothek Sozialwissenschaften: Montag - Freitag 9-13 Uhr

Für alle anderen Personen (gilt nicht für Studierende der WWU)

  • Online-Anmeldung (gilt nicht für Studierende der WWU)
    Bei der Online-Anmeldung tragen Sie Ihre persönlichen Angaben in ein Web-Formular ein. Nach dem Absenden des ausgefüllten Formulars wird Ihnen eine Anmeldebestätigung angezeigt. Diese enthält genaue Hinweise, ab wann und wo Ihr Ausweis für Sie bereitliegt sowie welche Dokumente (Personalausweis, Reisepass, etc.) Sie zur Abholung mitbringen müssen. In der Regel können Sie Ihren Ausweis ab dem zweiten Werktag nach der Bestellung abholen. Zur Online-Anmeldung
  • Persönliche Anmeldung: Persönlich anmelden können Sie sich an den Ausweisschaltern der ULB und ihrer Zweigbibliotheken. Hier erhalten Sie Ihren Benutzungsausweis in der Regel sofort.
    Öffnungszeiten der Ausweisschalter:
    ULB-Zentralbibliothek Mo-Fr 10-13 und 15-17, Do bis 19;
    Zweigbibliothek Medizin Mo-Fr 8-17; 
    Zweigbibliothek Sozialwissenschaften Mo-Fr 9-13

    Für die Anmeldung benötigen Sie
  • ein ausgefülltes Anmeldeformular. Sie erhalten ein Blanko-Formular an den Ausweisschaltern oder finden es zum Ausdrucken auf unserer Download-Seite.
  • Ihren Personalausweis oder Reisepass. Falls Sie in Deutschland oder den Niederlanden leben und in Ihrem Ausweis keine Adresse nachgewiesen ist, benötigen Sie zusätzlich eine amtliche Meldebescheinigung mit Ihrem Wohnsitz.
  • als Studierende/r anderer Hochschulen in Münster zusätzlich Ihren Studierendenausweis oder Ihr aktuelles Semesterticket.
  • als wissenschaftliche/r Mitarbeiter/in der WWU, die/der nicht im Vorlesungsverzeichnis steht, zusätzlich einen Beschäftigungsnachweis (z.B. Arbeitsvertrag).

Sonderregelungen

  • Minderjährige benötigen zusätzlich zum Anmeldeformular eine Einverständniserklärung eines Erziehungsberechtigten sowie dessen Personalausweis oder Reisepass im Original oder als Fotokopie. Minderjährige unter 16 Jahren werden grundsätzlich nicht zur Benutzung der ULB zugelassen; Ausnahme sind Juniorstudierende der WWU sowie Schüler im Förderprogramm des Internationalen Centrums für Begabungsforschung (ICBF) der WWU.
  • Für Projekte an der WWU beantragen deren Leiter einen Benutzungsausweis mit dem Anmeldeformular "Projekte und Semesterapparate"..
  • Für einen Semesterapparat in einem Institut, in einer Zweigbibliothek oder im Lesesaal der ULB benutzen Sie bitte das Anmeldeformular "Projekte und Semesterapparate"..
  • Referendare der Rechtswissenschaft oder für ein Lehramt sowie Mediziner und Pharmazeuten im Praktischen Jahr (Voraussetzung: Wohnort oder Ausbildungsstelle liegen im Regierungsbezirk Münster) können auf Antrag Ausleihkonditionen der regulären Studierenden erhalten. Bitte nutzen Sie die Online-Anmeldung
  • In Ausnahmefällen können Sie eine andere Person mit der Beantragung und Abholung eines Benutzungsausweises beauftragen. Hierzu muss die von Ihnen beauftragte Person neben den o.g. Dokumenten eine schriftliche Vollmacht vorlegen und sich durch Personalausweis oder Reisepass ausweisen können.

Benutzernummer und Kennwort - der Schlüssel zu Ihrem Benutzerkonto

Benutzernummer und Kennwort sind der Schlüssel zu Ihrem Benutzerkonto. Sie werden bei den Ausleihfunktionen im ULB-Katalog (Bestellung, Vormerkung, Verlängerung), bei der Fernleihe sowie bei der Nutzung der Selbstverbuchungsgeräte im Lehrbuch-Magazin abgefragt.

Die aus 11 Zeichen zusammengesetzte Benutzernummer steht auf Ihrem Benutzungsausweis. Geben Sie diese immer exakt so ein, inkl. Großbuchstaben und Schrägstrich, z.B. A01234567/Z. Falls Ihre Benutzernummer mit 0 endet, testen Sie bitte bei der ersten Bestellung, ob es sich um den Buchstaben O oder die Zahl 0 handelt.

Als Kennwort voreingestellt sind die ersten vier Stellen Ihres Geburtsdatums im Format TTMM, also z.B. "0112" für den 1. Dezember. Dieses Kennwort gilt nur für die erstmalige Anmeldung im ULB-Katalog und muss dann geändert werden. Wenn Sie später Ihr Kennwort erneut ändern möchten, können Sie das jederzeit im ULB-Katalog über das Menü "Konto --> Benutzerdaten --> Kennwort ändern" tun. Zulässig sind Kennwörter aus 4-12 Zeichen (Buchstaben und/oder Ziffern); Groß- und Kleinschreibung sind relevant.

Wenn Sie Ihr Kennwort vergessen haben, können Sie sich im Menü "Konto" des ULB-Katalogs ein neues Kennwort per E-Mail zusenden lassen, indem Sie dort auf den Link "Kennwort vergessen?" klicken. (Diese Funktion können Sie nur dann nutzen, wenn in Ihrem Benutzerkonto auch Ihre E-Mail-Adresse eingetragen ist.) Mit diesem neuen Kennwort können Sie sich dann erneut anmelden; nach erfolgreicher Anmeldung ersetzt dieses neue Kennwort das bisherige, alte Kennwort. Fällt Ihnen jedoch zwischenzeitlich Ihr bisheriges Kennwort wieder ein, können Sie sich auch damit noch anmelden; in diesem Fall wird das neue, per E-Mail mitgeteilte Kennwort wieder ungültig.

Wenn Sie Ihr Kennwort vergessen haben, in Ihrem Benutzerkonto jedoch keine E-Mail-Adresse eingetragen ist, wenden Sie sich bitte persönlich während der Öffnungszeiten an einen der Ausweisschalter der ULB; bringen Sie dazu Ihre Studierendenkarte bzw. Ihren ULB-Benutzungsausweis sowie Ihren Personalausweis oder Reisepass mit.

Ablagefach-Nummer

Wenn Sie entliehene Medien vormerken oder Medien aus dem geschlossenen Magazin oder per Fernleihe bestellen, werden diese für Sie beim Eintreffen in der Buchabholung bereitgelegt. In der Zentralbibliothek können Sie die für Sie bereitgelegten Medien in der Buchabholung im Erdgeschoss selbst aus dem Regal nehmen, an allen anderen Stellen (Lesesäle, Zweigbibliotheken) erledigt das unser Personal für Sie.

Ihr Ablagefach in der Buchabholung wird durch eine dreistellige Nummer bestimmt. Diese Nummer entspricht bei WWU-Studierenden den letzten drei Stellen Ihrer Matrikelnummer; wenn Sie z. B. die Matrikelnummer 123456 haben, lautet Ihre Ablagefach-Nummer 456. Für alle anderen Nutzer steht die Nummer des Ablagefachs auf Ihrem ULB-Ausweis in der rechten oberen Ecke.

Ausleihkonditionen

Der Benutzungsausweis der ULB hat Gültigkeit für die Zentralbibliothek und für die Zweigbibliotheken Medizin, Sozialwissenschaften und Haus der Niederlande. Zudem können Sie mit dem Benutzungsausweis der ULB in der Bibliothek der Lehreinheit Erziehungswissenschaft entleihen.

Die Ausleihe von Medien aus der ULB ist grundsätzlich kostenlos. Gebühren entstehen Ihnen lediglich bei den in der Gebührenübersicht genannten Sachverhalten wie Überschreitung der Leihfrist oder für einzelne Dienstleistungen wie Fernleihbestellungen.

Für die verschiedenen Benutzergruppen der ULB gelten unterschiedliche Ausleihkonditionen (Anzahl entleihbarer Medien, Verlängerungsmöglichkeiten etc.). Der Anfangsbuchstabe Ihrer Benutzernummer zeigt Ihnen, welcher Benutzergruppe Sie angehören; z.B. steht der Buchstabe "A" für Studierende der WWU. Einer gesonderten Übersicht können Sie entnehmen, welche Ausleihkonditionen für Ihre Benutzergruppe gelten.

Änderung Ihrer persönlichen Daten

Im ULB-Katalog können Sie über das Menü "Konto – Benutzerdaten" jederzeit feststellen, ob die ULB Ihre korrekten Daten gespeichert hat. Eine Änderung Ihrer Personalien teilen Sie uns bitte möglichst umgehend mit:

  • Als Studierende/r der WWU teilen Sie eine Änderung von Name oder Anschrift ausschließlich dem Studierendensekretariat mit. Nutzen Sie dafür bitte das Rückmeldeportal. Vom Studierendensekretariat werden diese Änderungen an die ULB weitergegeben. Eine zusätzliche Meldung bei der ULB ist nicht notwendig.
  • Alle anderen Nutzer teilen eine Änderung von Name oder Anschrift der ULB an einem der Ausweisschalter persönlich mit. Bringen Sie dazu bitte Ihren ULB-Benutzungsausweis sowie Ihren Personalausweis oder Reisepass mit Meldebescheinigung mit.
  • Die Änderung Ihrer E-Mail-Adresse(n) können Sie über den ULB-Katalog (-> Konto -> Benutzerdaten) selbst vornehmen.

Ausweisverlust

Den Verlust Ihrer Studierendenkarte (Studierende der WWU) bzw. Ihres Benutzungsausweises teilen Sie bitte sofort der Leihstelle mit. Eine Verlustmeldung kann auch telefonisch erfolgen unter 0251/83-24032 (nach 17:00 Uhr und am Wochenende unter 0251/83-24027). Für die Folgen einer missbräuchlichen Benutzung Ihres verlorenen und nicht umgehend gesperrten Benutzungsausweises sind Sie haftbar.

Wenn Sie sich als Studierende/r der WWU bei Verlust der Studierendenkarte im Studierendensekretariat eine neue Studierendenkarte ausstellen lassen, müssen Sie diese – wie Sie das von Ihrer vorherigen Karte kennen – von der ULB ebenfalls einmalig aktivieren lassen.

Bitte achten Sie sorgfältig auf Ihren Benutzungsausweis und schützen Sie ihn vor Beschädigungen. Für die Zweitausstellung eines Benutzungsausweises durch die ULB wird lt. Gebührenordnung eine Gebühr von 10,- EUR erhoben. Für Studierende der WWU wird die Ersatzausstellung einer Studierendenkarte nur im Studierendensekretariat vorgenommen und kostet 15,- EUR.

Gültigkeit

Wie lange bleibt Ihr Benutzungsausweis gültig? Was tun bei Exmatrikulation?

  • Die Studierendenkarte der WWU gilt als ULB-Benutzungsausweis bis zum aufgedruckten Gültigkeitsdatum, längstens jedoch bis zum Tag der Exmatrikulation. Möchten Sie auch nach Ihrem Studium die ULB weiterhin nutzen, lassen Sie sich bitte einen Benutzungsausweis für hochschulexterne Benutzer/innen ausstellen.
  • Die Benutzungsausweise der Studierenden der Fachhochschule Münster sind bis zum Ende des Semesters, in dem Sie sich exmatrikulieren, gültig. Möchten Sie auch nach Ihrem Studium die ULB weiterhin nutzen, lassen Sie sich bitte einen Benutzungsausweis für hochschulexterne Benutzer/innen ausstellen.
  • Die Benutzungsausweise der Studierenden anderer Hochschulen in Münster sind bis zum Ende des laufenden Semesters gültig und können unter Vorlage eines aktuellen Studierendenausweises oder Semestertickets jeweils um ein Semester verlängert werden. Möchten Sie auch nach Ihrem Studium die ULB weiterhin nutzen, lassen Sie sich bitte einen Benutzungsausweis für hochschulexterne Benutzer/innen ausstellen.
  • Die Benutzungsausweise des Hochschulpersonals gelten bis zum Ausscheiden aus der Universität.
  • Die Benutzungsausweise der hochschulexternen Benutzer/innen werden gelöscht, wenn sie drei Jahre lang nicht benutzt worden sind.