Circulation desk
© ULB

Loan information

Issuing

In the stacks and textbook collection, you can remove the selected books from the shelf yourself. When leaving the rooms, please present the books to the staff at the issue desk or use the self-issue machines. In both cases, you will receive a receipt with details of the loan period.

Books from the closed stacks, which you have ordered via the ordering function in the ULB catalogue [de], are generally available after 4 hours in the self-collection area on the ground floor. (The exact time and place of availability will always be displayed in the ULB catalogue after ordering.) In your account, you will find these books under the heading "Bestellungen" (= orders). Once you have collected them, they will be marked as “ausleihverbucht” (= checked out) and you will find them in your account under the heading "Ausleihen" (= loans).

Please note our opening hours

Hold requests

If a book that you want is on loan, you can make a hold request using the entry form of the ULB catalogue [de] (button "Bestellung/Vormerkung" = order/hold request) and also cancel it (user account display, sub-account "Vormerkungen" = hold requests). [Please note: Items on loan from a branch library can only be reserved if the corresponding branch library has been selected prior to the search.] The hold request is only valid for a limited period (3 months). We will notify you by email or letter as soon as the book is available. In case of postal notification, we will debit your fee account with the postal charges. If you wish to save money and generally receive your notifications by email, you can enter your email address here [de] and check it and correct it if necessary.

Loan period

The loan period is four weeks (20 working days Mon – Fri) and can be renewed five times, provided that no other user has placed a hold request. A further renewal is only possible on presentation of the book/item at the return desk of the respective location (central library or branch library). In principle, journals cannot be renewed. If another user has already placed a hold request, you can only borrow the items for a period of two weeks (ten working days from Mon – Fri); in this case, an extension is not possible.

If the loan period is exceeded, fees [de] will be charged for each book. If you exceed this period by more than 40 days, your library card will be blocked. In addition, an administrative enforcement order will be applied to retrieve the books.

Reminder by email prior to the end of the loan period
If your email address is registered with your user account, we will send you a reminder 5 days prior to the end of the loan period. The first reminder after the loan period has expired, as well as notifications of the availability of reserved books and interlibrary loans, will also be sent to you by email.
If you want to use this service, you can enter your email address here [de] and check and correct it if necessary.

Remember the Book
“Remember the Book” is a personal RSS feed that reminds you on a daily basis of your loans at the ULB Münster, whose loan period will expire in one week, three days, tomorrow or today. If you would like to subscribe to this RSS feed, simply enter your ULB user number on the website www.ulb.uni-muenster.de/rememberthebook [de]. The link to your personal “Remember the Book”-RSS feed will then be sent to the email address(es) entered in your ULB account. For general information on RSS feeds, please visit our RSS service page [de].

Please note that overdue charges are applied regardless of the dispatch and receipt of reminders!

Renewing items

You may extend the loan period yourself:

  • Online via the ULB catalogue. Select the function "verlängern" (= renewal) in your ULB account [de]. Even items whose loan period has already been exceeded can usually be renewed retrospectively; however, the fees incurred for exceeding the loan period will not be affected. It is recommended to print out the page displaying the renewal due dates as your receipt. A complaint can only be made on presentation of a printout.
  • In writing: Please send a self-addressed stamped envelope, stating the user number at least one day before the end of the loan period (postmark!)
  • but not by phone or email

In the case of a total account extension, the loan period for all books that are not reserved and whose loan period expires within the next ten working days (Mon – Fri) will be extended. Tip: It is recommended to print out the page displaying the result as your receipt. A complaint can only be made on presentation of a printout.

Notifications

  • By post: Notifications are sent by postal services by default. Postage will only be charged for notifications of reserved books that are ready to be picked up and interlibrary loans; your user account will be debited with 0.70 EUR per notification.
  • By email: If your email address is registered with your user account, we will send you certain information regarding your library account (e.g. available media, upcoming due dates, late returns, or unpaid fees) and general usage information (e.g. deviating opening hours, service restrictions and special services) to this address. This email delivery service is without guarantee. In your ULB account [de] ("Benutzerdaten") you can enter your email address(es)* yourself, check and, if necessary, correct them.
  • Remember the Book is a personal RSS feed that reminds you on a daily basis of all items you have currently out on loan and whose loan period will end in one week, three days, tomorrow or today. If you would like to subscribe to this RSS feed, simply enter your ULB user number on the website www.ulb.uni-muenster.de/rememberthebook [de]. The link to your personal Remember the Book-RSS feed will then be sent to the email address(es)* entered in your ULB account. For general information on RSS feeds, please visit our RSS service page [de].

Please note that overdue charges are applied regardless of the dispatch and receipt of reminders!

* Students of the University of Münster with an activated student ID card: Please note that if two private email addresses are registered with your account, one of these two addresses will automatically be replaced every night by your official WWU email address (at uni-muenster.de). Therefore, you should enter only one private email address and/or set up forwarding from the WWU address to your private email address via the user portal "My ZIV".

Account enquiries

You can log into your ULB account [de] ("Konto") via the ULB catalogue. It provides information on what you have borrowed, ordered or reserved and whether fees are due. You can also ask the staff at the ULB circulation desk for a printout of your account.

To create a borrowing history, select the user data menu item ("Benutzerdaten") in your ULB account and tick the borrowing history box ("Ausleihhistorie") at the end of the user data section. From this time on your returns will be logged and saved for a period of 6 months. You can view them by selecting "Historie" under "Kontostand". Returns older than 6 months will automatically be deleted. If you deactivate the borrowing history, all returns will be completely deleted after a confirmation prompt and the history sub-account will no longer be displayed.

Returning items

  • Books from the stacks and the textbook collection: Please return them at the return desk in the foyer or – if this desk is not occupied – at the stacks’ issue desk. If neither desk is occupied (the last 30 minutes of the opening hours), you can use our "Bücherbox" (book box) in the research room.
  • Books from the Central Library (Krummer Timpen), the Medical Branch Library, the Social Sciences Branch Library, the Institute for Educational Science and the Centre for Dutch Studies (Haus der Niederlande) can be returned at the return desks of the other libraries.

In exceptional cases, you may return the books to the ULB by post (please send them to Krummer Timpen 3, 48143 Münster). The postmark date is deemed the date of return. Please note that you bear all risks associated with postal dispatch; we therefore recommend that you use an insured parcel service.

Attention: In case of loss or damage of borrowed books, you are obliged to pay damages. Please fill out a loss and damage form [de] at the loan desk to report any loss or damage and confirm that you will pay for those. Thus, you can avoid a dunning procedure and possible blocking of your loan authorization.

Fees

The use of the ULB is generally free of charge. Fees [de] are charged only for exceeding the loan period, loss or damage to a book/item/library card and for special services.

Foyer-theke ulb 2 1
© ULB

Informationen zur Ausleihe

Verbuchung

Im Magazin und im Lehrbuch-Magazin können Sie die gewünschten Bücher selbst aus dem Regal nehmen. Beim Verlassen der Räume legen Sie die Bücher bitte am Verbuchungsplatz vor bzw. verbuchen Sie an den Selbstverbuchungs-Terminals. In beiden Fällen erhalten Sie einen Verbuchungsbeleg mit Angabe der Leihfrist.

Bücher aus dem geschlossenen Magazin, die Sie über die Bestellfunktion im ULB-Katalog geordert haben, liegen im allgemeinen nach 4 Std. in der Buchabholung im EG bereit. (Der genaue Zeitpunkt sowie der Ort der Bereitlegung wird Ihnen im ULB-Katalog nach erfolgter Bestellung stets angezeigt.) In Ihrem Konto im ULB-Katalog finden Sie solche Bücher in der Rubrik "Bestellungen"; erst bei der Abholung werden die Bücher für Sie "ausleihverbucht"; Sie finden diese Bücher dann in Ihrem Konto in der Rubrik "Ausleihen".

Beachten Sie bitte unsere Öffnungszeiten

Vormerkung

Wenn ein Buch bereits verliehen ist, können Sie in der Eingabemaske des ULB-Katalog eine Vormerkung veranlassen (Button "Bestellung/Vormerkung") und auch wieder stornieren (Benutzerkontoanzeige, Unterkonto "Vormerkungen"). [Beachten Sie bitte: Entliehene Medien aus dem Bestand einer Zweigstelle können nur vorgemerkt werden, wenn vor der Suche die entsprechende Zweigstelle ausgewählt worden ist.] Die Vormerkung ist nur begrenzt gültig (3 Monate). Sie erhalten von uns eine Benachrichtigung per E-Mail oder Brief, wenn das Buch verfügbar ist. Bei Briefbenachrichtigung buchen wir die Portokosten auf Ihr Gebührenkonto. Wenn Sie also Geld sparen und Ihre Benachrichtigungen grundsätzlich per Mail erhalten möchten, können Sie hier Ihre E-Mail-Adresse selbst eintragen sowie überprüfen und ggf. korrigieren.

Leihfrist

Die Leihfrist beträgt vier Wochen (20 Werktage Mo-Fr) und kann dreimal verlängert werden, sofern keine Vormerkung durch einen anderen Benutzer vorliegt. Eine weitere Verlängerung ist nur unter Vorlage des Buchs/Mediums am Rückgabeschalter des jeweiligen Entleihortes (Zentralbibliothek oder jeweilige Zweigbibliothek) möglich. Zeitschriften können grundsätzlich nicht verlängert werden. Medien, auf die bereits ein anderer Vormerker wartet, können Sie nur zwei Wochen (zehn Werktage Mo-Fr) ausleihen; eine Verlängerung ist in diesem Fall nicht möglich.

Beim Überschreiten der Leihfrist entstehen für jedes Buch Gebühren. Bei einer Überschreitung um mehr als 40 Tage wird Ihr Benutzungsausweis gesperrt und die Rückgabe wird auf dem Weg der Verwaltungsvollstreckung erwirkt.

Voraberinnerung per E-Mail vor Ablauf der Leihfrist
Wenn Ihre E-Mail-Adresse in Ihrem Benutzerkonto eingetragen ist, senden wir Ihnen 5 Tage vor Ablauf der Leihfrist ein Erinnerungsschreiben. Die 1. Erinnerung nach Ablauf der Leihfrist sowie Benachrichtigungen über bereitliegende vorgemerkte Bücher und Fernleihen erhalten Sie ebenfalls per E-Mail.
Wenn Sie diesen Service nutzen wollen, können Sie hier Ihre E-Mail-Adresse selbst eintragen sowie überprüfen und ggf. korrigieren.

Remember the Book
Remember the Book ist ein persönlicher RSS-Feed, der Sie täglich an Ihre Ausleihen in der ULB Münster erinnert, deren Leihfrist in einer Woche, in drei Tagen, morgen oder heute endet. Wenn Sie diesen RSS-Feed abonnieren möchten, geben Sie auf der Seite www.ulb.uni-muenster.de/rememberthebook einfach Ihre ULB-Benutzernummer ein. Der Link zu Ihrem persönlichen Remember the Book-RSS-Feed wird dann an die in Ihrem ULB-Konto eingetragene(n) Mailadresse(n) verschickt. Allgemeine Informationen zu RSS-Feeds finden Sie auf unserer Info-Seite RSS-Service.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Fristüberschreitungsgebühren unabhängig vom Versand und Zugang von Erinnerungsschreiben entstehen!

Verlängerung

Die Verlängerung der Leihfrist können Sie selbst veranlassen und zwar

  • online im Katalog. Wählen Sie im Menü "Konto" die Funktion "Verlängerung". Auch Medien mit bereits überschrittener Leihfrist können in der Regel nachträglich verlängert werden; die für die Leihfristüberschreitung angefallenen Gebühren bleiben jedoch bestehen. Drucken Sie nach einer Verlängerung das Ergebnis aus. Eine Reklamation ist nur unter Vorlage eines Ausdrucks möglich.
  • schriftlich mit frankiertem Rückumschlag unter Angabe der Benutzernummer spätestens einen Tag vor Ablauf der Leihfrist (Poststempel!)
  • jedoch nicht telefonisch und nicht per E-Mail

Bei der Gesamtkontoverlängerung wird die Leihfrist aller Bücher verlängert, die nicht vorgemerkt sind und deren Leihfrist innerhalb der nächsten zehn Werktage (Mo-Fr) abläuft. Tipp: Bitte drucken Sie nach einer Verlängerung das Ergebnis aus. Eine Reklamation ist nur unter Vorlage eines Ausdrucks möglich.

Benachrichtigungen

  • per Post: Benachrichtigungen werden standardmäßig per Post verschickt. Portokosten fallen nur für Benachrichtigungen über bereitliegende vorgemerkte Bücher und Fernleihen an; pro Benachrichtigung werden 0,70 EUR auf Ihrem Benutzerkonto verbucht.
  • per Email: Wenn Ihre E-Mail-Adresse in Ihrem Benutzerkonto eingetragen ist, senden wir Ihnen Benachrichtigungen über bereitliegende vorgemerkte Bücher und Fernleihen kostenfrei per E-Mail zu. Zudem erhalten Sie eine Woche vor und am Tag nach Ablauf einer Leihfrist ein Erinnerungsschreiben per E-Mail. Im ULB-Katalog (-> Konto -> Benutzerdaten) können Sie Ihre E-Mail-Adresse(n)* selbst eintragen sowie überprüfen und ggf. korrigieren.
  • Remember the Book ist ein persönlicher RSS-Feed, der Sie täglich an Ihre Ausleihen in der ULB Münster erinnert, deren Leihfrist in einer Woche, in drei Tagen, morgen oder heute endet. Wenn Sie diesen RSS-Feed abonnieren möchten, geben Sie auf der Seite www.ulb.uni-muenster.de/rememberthebook einfach Ihre ULB-Benutzernummer ein. Der Link zu Ihrem persönlichen Remember the Book-RSS-Feed wird dann an die in Ihrem ULB-Konto eingetragene(n) E-Mail-Adresse(n)* verschickt. Allgemeine Informationen zu RSS-Feeds finden Sie auf unserer Info-Seite RSS-Service.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass Fristüberschreitungsgebühren unabhängig vom Versand und Zugang von Erinnerungsschreiben entstehen.

* Studierende der WWU mit aktivierter Studierendenkarte: Bitte beachten Sie, dass - falls zwei private E-Mail-Adressen in Ihrem Konto eingetragen sind - eine dieser beiden Adressen automatisch jede Nacht mit Ihrer offiziellen E-Mail-Adresse der WWU (at uni-muenster.de) überschrieben wird. Sie sollten also am besten immer nur eine private E-Mail-Adresse eintragen und/oder im Nutzerportal "Mein ZIV" eine Weiterleitung von der Uni-Muenster-Adresse auf Ihre private E-Mail-Adresse einrichten.

Kontoabfrage

Eine Übersicht über Ihr Benutzerkonto gibt Ihnen die Katalog-Funktion "Benutzerkontoanzeige". Sie gibt Auskunft darüber, was Sie entliehen, bestellt oder vorgemerkt haben und ob Gebühren fällig sind. In der ULB sollten Sie Verlängerungen und Kontoanfragen nach Möglichkeit an einem Terminal mit Drucker (z.B. gegenüber der Information im EG) durchführen, damit Sie einen schriftlichen Beleg erhalten.

Rückgabe

  • Bücher aus dem Magazin und dem Lehrbuch-Magazin: im Foyer am Rücknahmeschalter bzw. - wenn dieser Schalter nicht besetzt ist - am Verbuchungsplatz für das Magazin (Die Rückgabe von Büchern ist während der gesamten Öffnungszeiten bis 30 Minuten vor Schließung der Bibliothek möglich.)
  • Bücher von den Ausleihbibliotheken Zentralbibliothek am Krummen Timpen, ZB Medizin, ZB Sozialwissenschaften, Institut für Erziehungswissenschaft und Haus der Niederlande können an den Rückgabeschaltern der jeweils anderen Bibliotheken abgegeben werden.

In Ausnahmefällen können Sie die Bücher auch per Post an die ULB zurückschicken (bitte an die Hausanschrift Krummer Timpen 3, 48143 Münster). Der Poststempel gilt als Datum der Rückgabe. Beachten Sie bitte, dass Sie das Risiko für den Postweg tragen. Wir empfehlen daher den Versand als Paket mit entsprechender Versicherung.

Achtung: Bei Verlust oder Beschädigung entliehener Bücher sind Sie zu Schadensersatz verpflichtet. Sie erhalten in der Leihstelle ein Formular zur Verlust-/Schadensmeldung, mit dem Sie erklären können, dass Sie Ersatz leisten. Damit ersparen Sie sich das Mahnverfahren und eine mögliche Sperrung der Ausleihberechtigung.

Gebühren

Die Benutzung der Hochschulbibliothek ist grundsätzlich gebührenfrei. Gebühren entstehen lediglich bei Überschreitung der Leihfrist, bei Verlust oder Beschädigung eines Buches/Mediums oder des Benutzungsausweises und für besondere Dienstleistungen.