Using the reading room during the Corona pandemic

Following the measures taken against the spread of the Corona Virus, the ULB services can only resume gradually.

Current situation regarding the use of the ULB reading room:

  • Reading and learning: Students and scientists of Münster University can book individual seats in the main reading room and use them following special hygiene rules – see below for more information.
  • Books whose use is restricted to the reading room: Consulting media ordered from such collections is only possible in the Westfalica reading room – see the section “Orders – hold requests” in the FAQs.

Reservation

You can book a seat in the Central Library's reading room and in other libraries [de] of the University of Münster via the Seat Reservation Service. Seats in the reading room can be booked Mondays to Fridays from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. and from 2 p.m. to 6 p.m. You can book one time slot per day and two slots per week. (In other libraries of the University of Münster different times and conditions apply; you will see the details in the Seat Reservation Service). You can book seats up to 7 days in advance.

Seats available in short term can be booked “last minute” from one hour before the time slot starts, even if your reservation budget per day or per week is already exhausted. In case you cannot use a reservation you can easily cancel it; if you cancel up to 24 hours before the start of the reservation, you can use this “slot budget” for a reservation on another date.

To use the Seat Reservation Service, you need a valid WWU ID or corresponding ID obtained at the library card desk and a valid ULB library card (A, B, K or X). If your student ID card is not yet activated for using the ULB, you can simply start the activation process online. You will receive a message to your Münster University email address when the activation is complete. Please note: For the Seat Reservation Service, the newly activated card can only be used the day after activation, since the data transfer from the loan system to the Seat Reservation Service only occurs once a day.

Access to the reading room

Directions to the reading room [de]

  • Access to the reading room is only possible with a valid seat reservation.
  • Access is only possible during a limited time period.
  • Please identify yourself at the entrance control with the ULB library card you registered during the reservation.
    Alternatively, you can use the so-called "Self-Check-in" on your smartphone shortly before the start of your booked time slot. You will receive further information on the "Self-Check-in" in the confirmation email sent to you after the reservation.
  • You can enter the reading room with your jacket and your bag, as the lockers are unusable. Please deposit umbrellas and similar bulky items when registering in the research room. The ULB is not liable for your personal belongings.
  • Please only use the seat you reserved. The redistribution of chairs or exchanging seats with other persons is not permitted.
Seat plan in the reading room: Numbers above 300 to the right of the stairs (clockwise), from 200 straight ahead, everything below to the left of the stairs
© ULB

Behaviour in the reading room

  • Please follow the usual hygiene rules (keeping distance, sneezing and coughing etiquette, washing your hands).
  • Please wear a mask covering mouth and nose when walking through the library (the way to your seat, the staircase, the way to the toilets). You can take off the mask when sitting at your seat.
  • Please note that because of the given routing and distance regulations, we cannot provide areas for breaks or short conversations. The traffic areas (corridors, foyer, stairs) are no place to linger.
  • Drinking from leak-proof and reclosable bottles and mugs is permitted as usual; eating is not permitted.
  • We cannot offer information services or hand out media whose use is restricted to the reading room.

Leaving the reading room

  • You can leave the reading room at any time. Please note, however, that it is not possible to re-enter within the booked time slot.
  • Please leave your seat quickly at the end of your reservation period so that cleaning for the next users can be carried out.

Further information

  • The reservation data will be kept for at least four weeks.
  • In case of misconduct, the ULB reserves the right to exclude users from the possibility of booking seats.

Lesesaal-Nutzung während der Corona-Krise

Aufgrund der Maßnahmen gegen die Ausbreitung von Corona können die üblichen Services der ULB nur schrittweise wieder ermöglicht werden.

Aktuelle Situation der Lesesaal-Nutzung:

  • Lernen und Arbeiten: Studierende und Wissenschaftler*innen der WWU können Einzelarbeitsplätze im Haupt-Lesesaal reservieren und unter besonderen Hygieneregeln nutzen – weitere Informationen dazu unten auf dieser Seite.
  • Lesesaalpflichtige Bestände: Die Einsicht solcher Bestellungen ist nur im Westfalica-Lesesaal möglich – weitere Informationen dazu im Abschnitt "Bestellung" der FAQs.

Reservierung

Über den Platzreservierungsservice der ULB können Sie Plätze im Lesesaal der ULB sowie in weiteren Bibliotheken der WWU einfach buchen. Reservierbare Zeitfenster für den Lesesaal der ULB sind MoFr 9–13 Uhr und 14–18 Uhr. Pro Tag können Sie ein Zeitfenster reservieren, pro Woche zwei Zeitfenster. (In den anderen Bibliotheken gelten meist eigene Regeln für die Länge und Anzahl der reservierbaren Zeitfenster, dies wird Ihnen im Platzreservierungsservice aber genau angezeigt.) Sie können Arbeitsplätze maximal 7 Tage im Voraus reservieren.

Kurzfristig noch freie Arbeitsplätze können Sie ab einer Stunde vor dem Reservierungsbeginn „last minute“ buchen, auch wenn Sie Ihr Kontingent von einer Reservierung pro Tag bzw. zwei pro Woche schon ausgeschöpft haben. Sollten Sie eine Reservierung nicht wahrnehmen können, ist eine Stornierung einfach möglich; wenn Sie bis 24 Stunden vor Reservierungsbeginn stornieren, können Sie dieses „Zeitguthaben“ an einem anderen Termin einsetzen.

Um den Platzreservierungsservice nutzen zu können, benötigen Sie einen gültigen ULB-Benutzungsausweis. Wenn Ihre Studierendenkarte dafür noch nicht aktiviert ist, können Sie die Aktivierung einfach online starten. Sie erhalten eine Nachricht an Ihre WWU-E-Mail-Adresse, wenn die Aktivierung erfolgt ist. Bitte beachten Sie: Für den Platzreservierungsservice ist die neu aktivierte Karte erst am Tag nach der Aktivierung einsetzbar, da der Datentransfer vom Ausleihsystem zum Platzreservierungsservice nur einmal täglich erfolgt.

Zugang zum Lesesaal

Weg zum Lesesaal

  • Der Zugang zum Lesesaal ist nur mit gültiger Sitzplatzreservierung möglich.
  • Der Einlass ist nur in einem festen Zeitfenster möglich.
  • Bitte weisen Sie sich bei der Eingangskontrolle mit dem ULB-Benutzungsausweis aus, der bei der Reservierung angegeben wurde.
    Alternativ können Sie kurz vor Beginn Ihres gebuchten Zeitfensters den sog. "Self-Check-in" auf Ihrem Smartphone nutzen. Nähere Informationen zum "Self-Check-in" erhalten Sie nach der Reservierung in der an Sie verschickten Bestätigungsmail.
  • Ein Zutritt mit Jacken und Taschen ist möglich (die Schließfächer sind gesperrt). Regenschirme u. ä. sperrige Gegenstände deponieren Sie bitte bei der Registrierung im Recherche-Saal. Die ULB übernimmt keine Haftung für Ihre persönlichen Gegenstände.
  • Bitte nutzen Sie ausschließlich den reservierten Sitzplatz. Das Umverteilen von Stühlen oder ein Platztausch mit anderen Personen ist nicht gestattet.
Sitzplan des Lesesaals: Nummern ab 300 rechts von der Treppe (im Uhrzeigersinn), ab 200 geradeaus, alles darunter links von der Treppe
© ULB

Verhalten im Lesesaal

  • Bitte halten Sie die üblichen Hygieneregeln ein (Abstand, Niesetikette, Händehygiene).
  • Bitte tragen Sie eine Mund-Nasen-Bedeckung (MNB) auf allen Verkehrswegen (Weg zum Sitzplatz, Treppenaufgang, Weg zur sanitären Anlage). Die MNB darf am Sitzplatz abgenommen werden.
  • Bitte beachten Sie, dass wir aufgrund der vorgegebenen Wegeführung und Abstandsregelungen keine Bereiche für Pausen oder kurze Gespräche zur Verfügung stellen können. Die Verkehrsflächen (Flure, Foyer, Treppen) sind kein Aufenthaltsort.
  • Wie üblich ist das Trinken aus auslaufsicheren und wiederverschließbaren Trinkbehältern erlaubt; Essen ist nicht gestattet.
  • Im Lesesaal findet keine bibliotheksfachliche Beratung sowie Ausgabe von lesesaalpflichtigen Medien statt.

Verlassen des Lesesaals

  • Ein Verlassen der ULB ist jederzeit möglich. Bitte beachten Sie jedoch, dass ein Wiederzutritt im gebuchten Zeitfenster nicht möglich ist.
  • Bitte verlassen Sie am Ende der Reservierungszeit zügig Ihren Arbeitsplatz, damit die Reinigung für die nächsten Nutzer*innen erfolgen kann.

Weitere Hinweise

  • Die Reservierungsdaten werden für mindestens 4 Wochen vorgehalten.
  • Bei Fehlverhalten behält die ULB sich vor, Personen von der Reservierungsmöglichkeit auszuschließen.