World map
© ULB

Map Collection

Use

Historical maps (16th – 19th century)

  • Use: after prior consultation (Tel. +49 (0)251 83-24072 or through our order form) in the manuscript reading room only
  • Reproduction: Order form for reproductions (fee required)
  • Digital: A collection of digital works is made available in the ULB’s online portal Digital collections [de]

Modern maps
The 'modern' maps can be found in the ULB catalogue and are available for loan.

'Modern' maps

It was only after the Second World War, that a map collection was established at the University and State Library of Münster. Apart from continuously obtained official maps, such as the topographical, geological, hydrogeological maps and the German basic map which were all issued by the Landesvermessungsämtern of the German states (Ordnance Survey), the University and State Library of Münster obtains, according to the deposit copy right (Directive about the Provision of Printed Works) of North Rhine-Westphalia, a specimen copy of each map released by publishers or municipal corporate bodies. These are especially city and site maps, hiking, touring or street maps from the areas of the governorates Arnsberg, Detmold and Münster. We are currently developing a special catalogue providing a list of geographical maps.

Historical maps

Apart from the more recent maps, the University and State Library of Münster offers a collection of historical maps from the 16th to the 19th century. This collection consists of two parts:

  • Maps acquired by the library over the years (about 500 map sheets, 450 titles) with the thematic priority of the areas of Westphalia and of the historical German eastern territories
  • Map collection of Baron August von Haxthausen which was acquired in 1967 (about 1,500 map sheets, 1,000 single and collective titles)

Regional distribution of map sheets: World maps (spherical surface, eastern and western hemisphere), large-scale maps of the European States, few of Northern and Southern Europe, numerous sheets are representative show pieces of the Amsterdam and Nuremberg-Augsburg era, Prussian provinces and German states and regions as well as city maps.

Dating of historical maps: The end of the 16th and 17th century is represented through famous mappers such as Gerhard Mercator and Abraham Ortelius, as well as through the publishing houses Hondius, Janssonius, Blaeu, Visscher, Schenk, Valck, Ottens, Mortier and Danckerts.
Maps from the southern German centers for cartography, represented by Johann Baptist Homann in Nuremberg as well as by Seutter and Lotter in Augsburg date back to the end of the 17th and 18th century.
The strongest presence, however, has the 19th century with Berlin mappers such as Simon Schropp, D. F. Sotzmann, F. W. Streit and others, examples from Weimar, Gotha and Leipzig (Landes-Industrie-Comptoir Weimar and Geographical Institute of Weimar), Adolf Stieler, Justus Perthes, Hellfarthsche Verlagsanstalt (Hellfarth Publishing House).

The collection is listed in the Systematic catalogue [de].

Map collection of Baron August von Haxthausen

The spectrum of content of the map collection ranges from general maps of the earth and sky, special regional maps (region of Westphalia), topographical-military maps, battle plans, maps of the soil culture, land cultivation and agricultural constitution to city maps from the first half of the 16th to the middle of the 19th century. Furthermore, it includes travel and boundary maps.
The maps are searchable in the ULB catalogue [de] and are available as digital copies [de].

Literature:
Bertram Haller / Günter Tiggesbäumker: Die Kartensammlung des August von Haxthausen in der Universitätsbibliothek Münster. Münster: Institut für Geographie und Länderkunde 1976
Location: reading room WES 2.72 MUS 26 and manuscript reading room WES 2.61 Hax 150

Weltkarte
© ULB

Kartensammlung

Benutzung

historische Karten (16. - 19. Jhd.)

  • Nutzung: nach vorheriger Absprache (Tel.: +49 251 83-24072 oder per Bestellformular) im Handschriften-Lesesaal
  • Reproduktion: Auftragsformular für Bestellung als kostenpflichtige Reproduktion.
  • Digital: Auswahl digitalisierter Werke aus dieser Sammlung im ULB-Portal 'Digitale Sammlungen'

moderne Karten
Die 'modernen' Karten sind im ULB-Katalog zu finden und ausleihbar.

'Moderne' Karten

Eine Kartensammlung hat die Universitäts- und Landesbibliothek Münster erst nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg eingerichtet. Neben den laufend bezogenen amtlichen Kartenwerken wie der topographischen, der geologischen, der hydrogeologischen Karte und der Deutschen Grundkarte - allesamt von den Landesvermessungsämtern der deutschen Bundesländer herausgegeben - erhält die ULB Münster nach dem Pflichtexemplargesetz des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen jeweils ein Belegexemplar der von Verlagen und von kommunalen Körperschaften herausgegebenen Karten. Dies sind vornehmlich Stadt- und Ortspläne, Wander- Touren- und Straßenkarten aus dem Bereich der Regierungsbezirke Arnsberg, Detmold und Münster. Zurzeit wird ein Sonderkatalog eingerichtet, der die geographischen Karten verzeichnet.

Historische Karten

Neben den neueren Karten besitzt die ULB Münster eine Sammlung historischer Karten aus dem 16. bis 19. Jahrhundert. Diese Sammlung besteht aus zwei Teilen:

  • die von der Bibliothek im Laufe der Jahre erworbenen Karten (ca. 500 Kartenblätter, 450 Titel) mit den Schwerpunkten im Bereich Westfalen und in den historischen deutschen Ostgebieten
  • Kartensammlung des Freiherrn August von Haxthausen, die im Jahre 1967 erworben wurde (ca 1.500 Kartenblätter, 1000 Einzel- und Sammeltitel)

Regionale Verteilung der Kartenblätter: Weltkarten (Kugelflächen, östliche und westliche Hemisphäre), großmaßstäbige Karten der europäischen Staaten, wenig Nord- und Südeuropa, zahlreiche Blätter sind repräsentative Schaustücke der Amsterdamer und Nürnberg-Augsburger Epoche, Preussische Provinzen und Deutsche Länder und Regionen sowie Stadtpläne.

Zeitliche Zuordnung: Das ausgehende 16. und das 17. Jahrhundert ist repräsentiert durch berühmte Kartographen wie Gerhard Mercator und Abraham Ortelius und durch die Verlagshäuser Hondius, Janssonius, Blaeu, Visscher, Schenk, Valck, Ottens, Mortier und Danckerts.
Vom Ende 17. Jahrhundert und aus dem 18. Jahrhundert stammen Karten aus den süddeutschen Zentren der Kartographie, vertreten durch Johann Baptist Homann in Nürnberg und Seutter und Lotter in Augsburg.
Das 19. Jahrhundert hat das Übergewicht mit Berliner Kartenmachern wie Simon Schropp, D. F. Sotzmann, F. W. Streit u.a.; dazu Beispiele aus Weimar, Gotha und Leipzig (Landes-Industriecomptoir und das Geographische Institut Weimar), Adolf Stieler, Justus Perthes, Hellfarthsche Verlaganstalt.

Erschlossen ist die Sammlung im Systematischen Katalog.

Die Kartensammlung des Freiherrn August von Haxthausen

Das inhaltliche Spektrum der Kartensammlung reicht von allgemeinen Erd- und Himmelskarten, speziellen Regionalkarten (Region Westfalen), topographisch-militärischen Karten, Schlachtenplänen, Karten zur Bodenkultur, Urbarmachung und Agrarverfassung bis zu Stadtplänen aus der 1. Hälfte des 16. bis zur Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts. Hinzu kommen Reise- und Grenzkarten.
Die Karten sind im ULB-Katalog recherchierbar und stehen als Digitalisate zur Verfügung.

Literatur:
Bertram Haller / Günter Tiggesbäumker: Die Kartensammlung des August von Haxthausen in der Universitätsbibliothek Münster. Münster: Institut für Geographie und Länderkunde 1976
Standorte: Lesesaal WES 2.72 MUS 26 und Handschriften-Lesesaal WES 2.61 Hax 150